Insomnia and Kitten Giggles

I don’t remember the last time I slept more than five hours all at once without pharmaceutical assistance.  I used to go to bed at a reasonable hour, up until I decided I wanted to marry someone who lived in England.  With the time difference, we were only able to talk at 3am.  When I worked evenings, this meant staying up late; when I worked days, it meant getting up insanely early.  It also left me with a feeling that if I sleep too much, I might miss something important. 

Was the change to my sleeping habits worth it?  The answer to that can be found in a random exchange with my husband.  We had stopped on the way to work to get something to drink, and I mixed some fountain drink that involved strawberry, cherry, and lime.  It turned out pretty well,and I made him take a sip.  He blinked and said, “It tastes like kitten giggles!”  I stared at him.  “What?  It does!”  I laughed and had to agree that it did, in fact, taste exactly like kitten giggles.

Or there was the time we were sitting in the car in the middle of winter with the sunroof open, looking up at the stars.  We got into a discussion (okay, an argument) about whether or not the universe was infinite, and how much it mattered to find out the answer.  My stance was that knowing with any certainty either way would be horrible, because it would take the wonder out of it.  “I mean, if you had everything you ever dreamed of, hoped for, wished for… well, then where would you be?”  His response?  “I’d be here in this car, right now, having this conversation with you.”

Of course, he eventually moved here and we got married, but I didn’t get a bigger bed.  And he does sleep.  Usually diagonally across the bed.  Instead of staying up all night talking to him, I stay up all night listening to him snore.  In fact, it’s currently 6am, and I can hear him snoring away in the next room.

In four days, we’ll be celebrating our third anniversary, which seems weird to me, since we’ve been together just shy of nine years.  Six years of staying up late to talk to each other, three years of snoring; nine years of insomnia and kitten giggles.  And it’s still absolutely worth it.

Leave a Reply

